All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: NEON on i.MX515 TO2
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:35 am
Posts: 3
Could someone please describe the TO2 NEON errata, and under what circumstances it applies? None of the errata in the current i.MX51 errata sheet that directly mention NEON seem to apply to regular user-space code. I want to do some prototyping/testing for a future project, ideally without having to buy new hardware.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 6:05 pm 
Offline
Genesi

Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 1:39 am
Posts: 1422
Hi, NEON and TO2 Efika MX hardware are incompatible. Please send us an email and let us know what you are working on and perhaps we can assist you.

Best regards,
R&B :)

_________________
http://bbrv.blogspot.com


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 7:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:35 am
Posts: 3
Thanks, but this is for a possible future commercial hardware project. Of course, if you still think you could provide assistance I won't refuse it :wink:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 7:17 pm 
Offline
Genesi

Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 1:39 am
Posts: 1422
Hi, unfortunately there is nothing that can be done. The TO2 product has a defect that prevents the advantages from NEON being a possibility.

R&B

_________________
http://bbrv.blogspot.com


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 8:13 pm 
Offline
Genesi

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 2:28 am
Posts: 409
Location: Finland
Antime, is there any reason why you have to use a TO2? Why not stick to a TO3 for the commercial product?


Johan.

_________________
Johan Dams, Genesi USA Inc.
Director, Software Engineering

Yep, I have a blog... PurpleAlienPlanet


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 8:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:21 am
Posts: 14
So far as I know the TO3 chip is being used however the TO2 chips were shipping before the bug was discovered and the software has to be backward compatible with it.

My 2 yen.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:35 am
Posts: 3
Quote:
Antime, is there any reason why you have to use a TO2? Why not stick to a TO3 for the commercial product?
As I already own a TO2 Smarttop I was just curious if I could use that, but as it seems like a no-go I'll probably just get a BeagleBone instead. It would likely be closer to the eventual target hardware anyway.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
PowerDeveloper.org: Copyright © 2004-2012, Genesi USA, Inc. The Power Architecture and Power.org wordmarks and the Power and Power.org logos and related marks are trademarks and service marks licensed by Power.org.
All other names and trademarks used are property of their respective owners. Privacy Policy
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group