All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 8:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 8:25 am
Posts: 3
Hello !


Could you tell me which distro to install on the efikamx according to the following points :

- easy to install (SD image with installer)
- recent (recent kernel, packages)
- including all necessary drivers/ modules out of the box (wifi, audio...)

thanks for your advice !


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 7:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 1:18 pm
Posts: 183
Location: Hornell, NY
well, other than the maverick image available on powerdeveloper.org you could try my Squeeze desktop image. it all depends on your definition of "recent" though. it is Debian stable.

the thread on it is here: http://www.powerdeveloper.org/forums/vi ... f=7&t=2262 and also some information at http://library.powerdeveloper.net/index.php/Debian


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 3:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 8:25 am
Posts: 3
thank you wschaub !

actually recent is not really the priority, the more important is that i have wifi and audio out of the box.
I'll try your image, thank you very much !!!


Edit: i successfully installed your debian image and everything seems working great, i only have one question : i hooked the efika to a 26" screen (hdmi) which has a native resolution of 1920x1200 but can't seem to able to select anything above 720p, is it a hardware limitation or can i add higher resolutions ? Thanks !


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 2:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 1:18 pm
Posts: 183
Location: Hornell, NY
Quote:
thank you wschaub !

actually recent is not really the priority, the more important is that i have wifi and audio out of the box.
I'll try your image, thank you very much !!!


Edit: i successfully installed your debian image and everything seems working great, i only have one question : i hooked the efika to a 26" screen (hdmi) which has a native resolution of 1920x1200 but can't seem to able to select anything above 720p, is it a hardware limitation or can i add higher resolutions ? Thanks !
The kernel selects the best 720p mode it can find. there are ways to go above that though but it's currently not as easy as just selecting a new resolution from a menu at the moment.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2012 4:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 8:25 am
Posts: 3
alright, i'll do some tweaking then.

thanks again, this Squeeze image is a very nice work !


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2012 1:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 10:32 am
Posts: 33
i Installed the armhf distro from wschaub via the livesd and the github script, and it works very well.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
PowerDeveloper.org: Copyright © 2004-2012, Genesi USA, Inc. The Power Architecture and Power.org wordmarks and the Power and Power.org logos and related marks are trademarks and service marks licensed by Power.org.
All other names and trademarks used are property of their respective owners. Privacy Policy
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group