All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 5:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 1:07 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Norway
I purchased an Efika MX a few weeks ago. My intention is to run it as
an X-terminal, and I'm therefore not particularly concerned about what OS
the Efika has.

There are, however, some problems related to the screen and the keyboard.

Both the size and the resolution on the screen are disappointing:

In /var/log/Xorg.0.log the modeline is logged as

Modeline "current"x0.0 74.25 1280 1390 1430 1650 720 730 735 755 bcast +hsync -vsync -csync (45.0 kHz)

Corresponding information from the log on the computer where the screen
previously was attached is

Modeline "current"x0.0 148.34 1920 1964 2052 2200 1080 1084 10 89 1125 bcast -hsync -vsync -csync (67.4 kHz)

The question is, then: Are the any configuration files where I can specify
the modeline or do anything else to improve the resolution?

The second problem is the keyboard/key-mapping:

I'm not able to switch to a console window e.g. by pressing Ctr-Alt-F1.
Additionally, when running X, I've not been able to manipulate the Motif
windows using the Alt-F3, Alt-F4 etc. shortcuts. xmodmap successfully remaps
grave and asciitilde, but it seems impossible to get the F-keys to work.
There seems to be workarounds for the Alt-Fn combinations in the Gnome
window manager, but it's no alternative. Gnome is too Bill-Gate'ish...

Then, is there any reason why Motif fails on the Efika? Incompatible
hardware or something like that?

My monitor is a BenQ E2200HD LCD, the keyboard Apple US international.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2012 2:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 11:46 am
Posts: 6
Location: Germany
Hi karuss,

as far as I know the kernel and X always chooses the highest possible resolution it has detected and which can be run. All possible resolutions are listed in /sys/class/graphics/fb0/modes

You can easily change the resolution of your current console (not X) by echoing the wanted resolution out of the possible ones to /sys/class/graphics/fb0/mode , e.g.
Code:
echo "V:800x600p-60" > /sys/class/graphics/fb0/mode
But it will not have any effect to the other consoles nor X. They will stay in the highest resolution chosen at system's startup.

To get the resolution on X changed the script at https://github.com/genesi/xorg-video-im ... nt-5768113 might help but it has to be run before X is started.

Hope it helps.

PS: Sorry I have no idea to your keyboard problems


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
PowerDeveloper.org: Copyright © 2004-2012, Genesi USA, Inc. The Power Architecture and Power.org wordmarks and the Power and Power.org logos and related marks are trademarks and service marks licensed by Power.org.
All other names and trademarks used are property of their respective owners. Privacy Policy
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group