All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2011 7:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 4:14 pm
Posts: 36
Location: USA
ppcman wrote:
markos wrote:
jpa256 wrote:
EGL and OpenGL ES don't appear to be working. I'm using Debian ARMHF + GNOME


And it won't be working unless we can get armhf binary drivers from Freescale, 3D drivers on ARM is a complicated story.


Freescale is working with us to get the get the binary parts of the GPU drivers re-compiled for ARMhf. It's not a complex task, but their team is relatively small and is pre-occupied with the mx6 debug. Btw, the mx6 silicon is looking good and the initial benchmarks are very exciting. :)


Will the upcoming EfikaMX models take advantage of the dual and quad core processor power of the iMX6?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2011 7:54 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 1:39 am
Posts: 1589
Location: Austin, TX
jpa256 wrote:
Will the upcoming EfikaMX models take advantage of the dual and quad core processor power of the iMX6?


The MX6 ones will but this chip is a little far away from being released.

_________________
Matt Sealey


Top
   
 Post subject: armhf + 3D drivers
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 8:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 7:26 am
Posts: 348
Ok, after some delays and some package fiddling, here is the first SD card image with the 3D binary drivers from Freescale, rebuilt for hardfloat:

http://www.powerdeveloper.org/asset/by-id/126

Just dd it on an SD card and boot. I don't really have any serious 3D apps there to show, only simple_draw and es11ex. Simple_draw gives ~190FPS vs 154FPS on softfp, which is an expected 23% gain from using hardfloat.

Some comments:

1. The kernel used is the latest git kernel from gitorius, so should be pretty much the same as in the maverick image.
2. KDE4 is incomplete in the image, only gnome works properly right now, I should have removed it completely but I decided to leave it for users that would like to install it.
3. mplayer+vlc are not available for video playback, there are failing build-dependencies in Debian that forbid this (libbluray/libgii resp). The first is java-related (missing link, already reported), the latter is thumb2-related, for which I already have a fix. So no movie playback for now, sorry, but ffplay works.
4. I will upload the armhf debs on the armhf repo which we will setup soon on some Genesi server.

Enjoy!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 4:25 am
Posts: 13
Markos,

Any clues to the username/password, the previous armhf/demo does not work.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 4:25 am
Posts: 13
found it - user: demo password: demo :D


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 7:26 am
Posts: 348
malcolm wrote:
found it - user: demo password: demo :D


oops! sorry, and I thought I forgot to mention something :)
Also, root password is 'armhf'. :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 2:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 4:25 am
Posts: 13
Markos,

root password is 'efika' :)

Armhf is looking good.

is the 2.6.39-2 kernel in /boot a usable?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2011 5:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 1:34 am
Posts: 10
Location: Barcelona
Hello everybody!
I'm new in the web page because i just get a efika MX smarttop. I've tried to install the image of the first post but it does not work!

I'm not sure what I've to do, I did the "dd" of the image to and SD card, and when I tried to boot the efika it starts normally with ubuntu.

is it works in smarttop as well?

Thanks!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2011 5:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 7:26 am
Posts: 348
magiza83 wrote:
Hello everybody!
I'm new in the web page because i just get a efika MX smarttop. I've tried to install the image of the first post but it does not work!

I'm not sure what I've to do, I did the "dd" of the image to and SD card, and when I tried to boot the efika it starts normally with ubuntu.

is it works in smarttop as well?

Thanks!


Yes, it should work in a smarttop as well. I think I see what the problem might be. The image is compressed so you would have to use -as root- something like the following:

Code:
xzcat efika-armhf+3d-20110925.img.xz| dd of=/dev/mmcblk0 bs=8192


After that you should reboot and it should load into armhf. :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2011 3:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 1:34 am
Posts: 10
Location: Barcelona
Hello,

I've just tried to boot it but it does not work.

Should i do anything else before efika starts to boot? Some kind of bios?

Thanks!!!

_________________
Efika MX Smarttop


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 6:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 7:26 am
Posts: 348
magiza83 wrote:
Hello,

I've just tried to boot it but it does not work.

Should i do anything else before efika starts to boot? Some kind of bios?

Thanks!!!


Could you please give more details? That is, what does it do exactly?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 11:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 1:34 am
Posts: 10
Location: Barcelona
Hi,

It does nothing :? I mean, when i boot efika nothing happend. It starts ubunut like there was not any SD card installed. My question was,

Is there any bios in efika where i can tell to boot from sd card?

Sorry if my english is not totally correct :oops:

Thanks

_________________
Efika MX Smarttop


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 6:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 4:14 pm
Posts: 36
Location: USA
magiza83 wrote:
Hi,

It does nothing :? I mean, when i boot efika nothing happend. It starts ubunut like there was not any SD card installed. My question was,

Is there any bios in efika where i can tell to boot from sd card?

Sorry if my english is not totally correct :oops:

Thanks


I get the same problem on the Efika MX Smart Book. The system hangs when it boots up with the armhf+3d SD card.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 10:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 7:26 am
Posts: 348
jpa256 wrote:
magiza83 wrote:
Hi,

It does nothing :? I mean, when i boot efika nothing happend. It starts ubunut like there was not any SD card installed. My question was,

Is there any bios in efika where i can tell to boot from sd card?

Sorry if my english is not totally correct :oops:

Thanks


I get the same problem on the Efika MX Smart Book. The system hangs when it boots up with the armhf+3d SD card.


Ok, I forgot to mention that the image expands to a 4GB SD card image, have you used a smaller one?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2011 10:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 4:14 pm
Posts: 36
Location: USA
markos wrote:
jpa256 wrote:
magiza83 wrote:
Hi,

It does nothing :? I mean, when i boot efika nothing happend. It starts ubunut like there was not any SD card installed. My question was,

Is there any bios in efika where i can tell to boot from sd card?

Sorry if my english is not totally correct :oops:

Thanks


I get the same problem on the Efika MX Smart Book. The system hangs when it boots up with the armhf+3d SD card.


Ok, I forgot to mention that the image expands to a 4GB SD card image, have you used a smaller one?


I used a 16GB SD card. I tried dd twice, first with the option bs=8192, then without it. Efika MX did not start up with it and crashed twice.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 Next

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited